The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. 

The league was founded in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). 

It has become one of the most popular and lucrative cricket leagues in the world. 

IPL is played every year in the months of March, April, and May.

The league consists of eight teams representing different cities in India. 

Each team is owned by a franchise and is a combination of both Indian and foreign players. 

The teams compete in a round-robin format, with the top four teams qualifying for the playoffs.

The IPL has been a breeding ground for young Indian talent. 

Players like Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya have all emerged from the league and gone on to become top performers for the Indian cricket team. 

The league has also attracted some of the biggest names in world cricket, including Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Steve Smith.